Barry Gibb Publicizes New Album And Shares New Music With Jason Isbell: Pay attention

Bee Gees boss Barry Gibb has announced a new album. GREENFIELDS: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 3, No. 1 is inspired by Gibbs’ lifelong love of country and bluegrass music. The 12-track LP features a number of notable guests, including Dolly Parton, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, Sheryl Crow and Alison Krauss. Today Gibb released a collaboration with Jason Isbell called “Words of a Fool”. Hear it below, and scroll down to see the full track listing.

GREENFIELDS will be released on January 8, 2021 via Capitol. The album was produced by Dave Cobb and contains 12 of the classic songs by the Gibb Brothers, which have been reinterpreted with a number of special guests. “From day one we walked into the RCA Studios in Nashville (right where Elvis, Willie, Waylon, Roy, the Everly Brothers and so many other legends worked their magic) that the album took on a life of its own,” said Barry Gibb in a press release. He continued:

I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with Dave and all the artists who stopped by. They have all been incredibly generous with their time and talent. You inspired me more than words can express. I think deep down that Maurice and Robin loved this album for a variety of reasons. I wish we could all have been together to do it … but I think we were.

Jason Isbell said, “Barry Gibb is one of the greatest songwriters and singers in pop music history, and I’m happy to say he still has that beautiful voice and magical sense of melody. Working with him on this project has been one of the great honors of my career. He is a prince. “

Dave Cobb added, “It was really an honor to work with one of my heroes. Bee Gees’ first album has always been a staple for me and it was surreal to see the genius of Barry Gibb in the studio – he’s one of the greatest of all time! “

Read “Revisiting Saturday Night Fever, Disco’s Dark B-Side” on the plaza.

GREENFIELDS: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 3, No. 1::

01 Barry Gibb / Keith Urban: “I have to send you a message”
02 Barry Gibb / Jason Isbell: “Words of a Fool”
03 Barry Gibb / Brandi Carlile: “Run to me”
04 Barry Gibb / Alison Krauss: “Too Much Heaven”
05 Barry Gibb / Little Big Town: “Lonely Days”
06 Barry Gibb / Dolly Parton: “Words”
07 Barry Gibb / Miranda Lambert / Jay Buchanan: “Jive Talkin ‘”
08 Barry Gibb / Tommy Emanuel / Small Big City: “How deep is your love?”
09 Barry Gibb / Sheryl Crow: “How can you heal a broken heart?”
10 Barry Gibb / Jay Buchanan: “To Love Someone”
11 Barry Gibb / Olivia Newton-John: “Let your love rest on me”
12 Barry Gibb / Gillian Welch / David Rawlings: “Butterfly”

Comments are closed.